Reviews & Views

Radical Sneak Attack (WWRD 5/27/2022)

 

Radical Sneak Attack

The Attack is back! It’s returning to the EZ Use line with a lot more tech advances than the previous Attacks including a new lower diff, medium rg core with also new Micro Textured Pearl (MTH) cover for added traction. Radical includes in each box drilling instructions with “no balance hole” options. This is easily a must have for league and tournament arsenals.

Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Columbia300 Power Torq Pearl (WWRD 5/27/2022)

 

Columbia300 Power Torq Pearl

The C300 Power Torq is still one of the most popular choices for every skill level. It’s a clean solid that has a great controllable motion off the back of the pattern. The C300 Power Torq Pearl (ERT) is the next ball bowlers have been waiting for from C300. This Sky Blue pearl goes longer and has a stronger reaction to friction than the original. It’s also built with DynamiCore for more hitting power and durability. There is an alternate core on the 12-13lb balls.

 Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge

www.columbia300.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

DV8 Damn Good Verge Pearl (WWRD 4/29/2022)

 

  DV8 Damn Good Verge Pearl

The follow up people have been waiting for is finally here! With the original Damn Good Verge still a staple in a lot of bowler’s bags, the pearl version was a natural addition. This polished purple ball will be cleaner and a later shape than the DGV. Built with D.O.T. and DynamiCore, the Damn Good Verge Pearl is built to last and perform. There is an alternate core in the weights under 14, but the numbers create the same motion as the heavier counterparts. On the DV8 chart, the DGV Pearl fits between the Activ8 and Medusa.

Recommended Cleaner: Hammer Tough Scrub

www.DV8Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Ebonite Envision (WWRD 4/29/2022)

 

Ebonite Envision

Are you the fan of the Game Breaker series? Really, who isn’t? With the new Ebonite Envision, you now have a choice for more volumes and a similar ball motion. Using the new GSV-X Solid cover (Ebonite Aero), the Envision cuts through medium to heavy volumes for higher scores. DynamiCore is included to strengthen the 2 year warranty from date of purchase. The 12 and 13lbs balls have the alternate asym core with strong numbers. Smooth and strong is how we would define the Ebonite Envision.

 Recommended Cleaner: Power House Clean & Dull

www.ebonite.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Track Kinetic Black Ice (WWRD 4/29/2022)

 

Track Kinetic Black Ice

While the Kinetic Platinum is still a great ball for clean length and strong motion, the beautiful Track Kinetic Black Ice will pick up a little sooner and hook a couple more boards. The shuttle core has been a Track staple for years. This core motion is a great fit between symmetrical and stronger asymmetrical balls. This makes it great for later games in leagues.

Recommended Cleaner: Power House Clean & Dull

www.TrackBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical Bigfoot (WWRD 03/25/2022)

 

Radical Bigfoot

Radical Bowling brings a new entry to its reliable line. The new Bigfoot is based off the popular Squatch line. DynamiCore and the new core will provide a great motion and hitting power. The TP1+ pearl cover was also on the Radical Results Plus. If you’re looking for a continuous symmetrical, the Bigfoot is what you’ve been searching for. The Bigfoot is available in weight from 12-16lbs. The 12 and 13lbers have an alternate core, but great numbers to get the desired motion.

Recommended Cleaner: Power House Power Wash

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical Conspiracy Scheme (WWRD 03/25/2022)

 

Radical Conspiracy Scheme

Using the popular Conspiracy Asym core adding, DynamiCore and the new Motion Magic Solid cover, Radical has built a new Top Shelf product. This combo will be great for heavy volumes and brings a strong mid-lane and backend motion. Strong is the word we would use for the release. The Conspiracy Scheme is available in weights from 14-16. 

Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Scrubbing Gel

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Columbia Speed (WWRD 03/25/2022)

 

Columbia Speed

The all new Columbia300 Speed was impressive during the PBA Tournament of Champions telecast. The new hybrid cover (Formula 1) and new core (Shifter) will provide a stronger option to the popular C300 Power Torq. Overall hook on heavy volumes is where the Speed will read the road. The 12 & 13 pound balls do have an alternate core, but will do the job of its heavier counterparts. All high performance balls are built with D.O.T. and DynamiCore for superior drilling options and durability.

Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Scrubbing Gel

www.columbia300.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Brunswick Defender (WWRD 3/25/2022)

Brunswick Defender

  The Defender is not only great looking, but it will excel on heavy volume conditions. It could help speed dominate bowlers who need to slow down to allow more hook. Using an updated Portal core, you will see a later motion than with most high end solid equipment. The Defender looks to slot in between the Quantum Evos. Available from 12-16lbs., all are built with D.O.T. for great drilling options and DynamiCore for increased hitting power and durability. The 12-13s have an alternate core, but provides the same great performance.

Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Scrubbing Gel

www.BrunswickBowling.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

DV8 Collision (WWRD 2/25/2022)

 

 DV8 Collision

DV8 adds a new piece to their Pro Performance line with the Collision. The Collision is built with the new Inciter Max Continuation Hybrid cover and Collision core combo. The performance is designed for length with a strong backend on medium to heavy volumes. The motion would be stronger than the Hell Raiser return with a sharper motion down lane. This ball will grab attention not just from its motion but its colors of Pink/Silver/Black, too. The DV8 Collision built with D.O.T. and DynamiCore for drilling ease, durability and hitting power. Balls that are 12 and 13lbs have an alternate core, but are designed to create the ball motion of the heavier counterparts.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.DV8Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Black Widow Urethane Pearl Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Black Widow Urethane Solid, Black Widow Ghost & Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane

With the WWRD of 2/25/22, Hammer Bowling is excited to present the Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane. This time the cover is the same as the Hammer Purple Pearl but with the famous Gas Mask core. This report will have a new adjustment grid so it’s easier to compare ball to ball and the adjustments needed. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed. The pattern is a fresh 42’ with more volume starting at 11 in. Outside of 6 tends to be a difficult starting point due to the topography of the center and less side to side taper. The track area opens up quickly and starting positions and angles need to be adjusted. The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Scorpion (4-3/4”x30*).  

The Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane was tested after the Hammer 3-D Offset, Some of the head oil and midlane oil had been removed. So I brought out the Scorpion again to get lined up and adjusted my feet to 27, targeting 13/14 with the focal point between the 6 & 10. It also should be noted I changed my hand position for more axis rotation and a sharper back end motion. This is a 2/2 move left, opened the launch angle a bit, but the biggest change was the hand position. This happened very quickly in the span of 2 games bowling alone.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Hammer Black Widow Urethane Solid (55*x4-3/4”x30*)

The Black Widow Urethane Solid was designed for medium – heavy volumes up front and a strong mid lane reaction and had a box finish of 360/500/500 Abralon. Basically when this saw friction, it grabbed and started its rotational change of direction. Great for flatter patterns and control but with a stronger motion than the Purple Pearl Urethane. The Hammer Urethane Pearl uses the same cover stock as the Purple Pearl but has the Gas Mask Core. The drillings are close, but the numbers and cover would get the Solid to react earlier. The Pearl went about 3’ longer down the lane.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane (4-1/4”x25*)

Having the same cover, the differences would be the cores and surface prep. It’s Asym- RG 2.500 DIFF .058 Asym .016 at 360/800 Siaair vs. Sym RG 2.650 DIFF .015 at 500/1K/2K Siaair. The difference is in the layouts are minimal with the same VALs being used. If the Pin to PAP distances were the same the core and surface would still be the deciding factors on how early the ball starts up. The general ball motion differences in Syms vs. Asyms is Syms have a smoother longer hook zone compared to Asyms which have a quicker hook zone. With both these being Pearl Urethanes, it was apparent the BW was stronger and had a bigger move due to the core and surface. You can see by comparing the flare mages below. Surfaces can be changed a bit but if you are choosing a urethane, its best to keep it close to its designed surface or make another choice in equipment. While not a preferred choice for recreational of standard league patterns, both would have their place in a competitive bowler’s tournament bag.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

The difference between these two is just the cover stock and how they respond to the oil and friction. The Ghost does clear the fronts more than the BW Pearl Urethane and has a sharper change of direction. The BW Ghost surface is at 500/1K/1500 Siaair with Crown Factory Compound to help with the length. The Ghost is a great alternate when the stronger pieces start to burn up. I personally choose either the Ghost or the Obsession Tour Pearl. This depends on the shape that carries the pins better at the time.

As stated above, the first testing session was under a center’s fresh house shot. I decided to add another comparison on a different day. The center adjusted both lane machines and the pattern seemed to have less volume and the 6 and out was cleaner and able to be used by different styles of bowlers. Scores were reported higher throughout the week. During the test, it was obvious that the Black Widow Pearl Urethane needed more volume. The core is too strong and while the cover is a pearl it is urethane and the box grit is rough (360/800 Siaair). The ball got into a roll too soon and stood up as it got closer to the pins. This resulted in striking, flat 10s or 4 pins. There was little room to miss and get a string going. The change to be made for this and the first test would be to smooth out the surface. However, urethanes aren’t the best choice for recreational (house) patterns. There are other choices that benefit from the higher volumes in the middle and the drier boards towards the gutters. Flatter Challenge and Sport patterns where control of the friction is needed down lane is where this and most urethanes will shine. 

 

 

 

 

It is said and printed that urethanes are for “dry” lanes. I believe that this statement is incomplete and it brings confusion. If there is a general cliff in the pattern to start, urethane may smooth this out. Closed angles are beneficial and playing/controlling the end of the pattern could lead to a more consistent ball motion and adjustments would be less radical. Referring back to the comparison, the Purple Pearl and the BW Pearl Urethane have the same coverstock (at different box surfaces) but much different cores. You can see this by the images above. If the friction of the pattern or the center calls for control, starting with the Purple Pearl and switching to the BW Pearl Urethane may be an option. Since the Gas Mask core flares, it will help cut through any carry down that might have occurred with symmetrical urethanes. Surface adjustments may be changed per individual bowler, but it depends on the needs of that bowler and the environment that they are facing.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the Hammer line. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer 3-D Offset Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Obsession, Hammer Obsession Tour, Black Widow Ghost 

Hammer Bowling is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 3-D Offset. This core was designed by Mo Pinel and was a big favorite on its initial release. Using a core that is close to the original shape, an updated cover stock for today’s conditions and the color and engraving that looks like it came out of 1997. Don’t forget Hammer has added the carbon fiber outer core and D.O.T. for durability and flexibility of drilling. 

I believe many bowlers of different styles will appreciate the way the Hammer 3D Offset rolls throughout the lane. Being built for medium-heavy volumes, surface adjustments can be made. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed. The pattern is a fresh 42’ with more volume starting at 11 in. Outside of 6 tends to be a difficult starting point due to the topography of the center and less side to side taper. The track area opens up quickly and starting positions and angles need to be adjusted. The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Scorpion (4-3/4”x30*). 

After getting warmed up and finding a good read of the lane, the starting position for the Hammer Scorpion was feet at 23, targeting 11/12 at the arrows and the focal point was the center of the 6 pin (9). Very easy read and flush hits using a rolling release. 

 Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Obsession (55*x4-1/2”x35*) 

The current heavy volume High Performance ball in the Hammer line is the Obsession. Because of the medium-light volume of oil, the Obsession tended to start up too early. However since the lanes were fresh, I was able to get into the volume and close down my angles with a rolling release. It didn’t last long and the Obsession would be better used for more volume. The 3-D started 3/4 left of the Scorpion and the focal point opened to between the 6/10. The3-D was cleaner than the Obsession and hit great due to saving more energy. The motion off the end of the pattern to my eye would be considered continuous. 

Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Obsession Tour (55*x4-1/2”x35*) 

Using the same release, the Obsession Tour was a more controlled but still burned energy to soon to carry 10 pins consistently. Again moving more into the oil, opening angles and changing hand position to add more axis rotation the 3-D cleared and recovered for flush strikes. I began to notice that the head area I was in started to hook earlier. With the absorption rate of the Obsessions and the lighter volume, this happened very quickly. More axis rotation and moving into the oil solved this issue. 

 Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Black Ghost (45×5”x25)

The 3-D Offset is stronger than the Ghost. With both balls striking flush, the difference is apparent. The 3-D was 4/2 left, and the focal point opened from the right side of the 6 (Ghost) to the center of the 10 (3-D). This may not seem a lot but the angle and distance is big throughout the procession of the entire shot. 

The Hammer 3-D Offset is a great piece and out of the box it would fit between the Obsession Tour and the Black Widow Ghost. The Obsession Tour Pearl would be close, but it would have a sooner smoother ball motion. Surface changes with the 3-D is possible, but I suggest not going to extremes and let this ball show what it can do with angle and hand position changes. I believe this is a versatile ball that serious bowlers should check out at their favorite shop. 

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the Hammer line. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Web Pearl & Hammer Web MB, Hammer Black Widow 2.0 & Hammer Black Widow Pink

For this comparison I went deeper into my arsenal. I brought out balls that have the same Gas Mask Core (2.0 and Pink), the same coverstock (Web Pearl) and a different asym with the same drilling (Web MB). The Black Widow Ghost Pearl is at box and the layout is 45×5”x25. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed.

 Hammer Web Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Testing on this day was after a morning Trio League that was on the center’s 40’ house shot. Lately, the volume has been less but the shape of the pattern seems the same. For this, I used the Hammer Web Pearl to be the lane reading ball. The track area (RH) was a bit toasty, so moving in was the move. With the focal point splitting the 6/10, striking was really good standing 25 and targeting through 14. The Ghost has the same cover (Aggression Pearl) and finish (500/1000/1500 SiaAir/ Crown Factory Compound) as the Web Pearl. With the Ghost layout numbers the ball “should have gone longer and had a quicker response”. I had to move to 32 with my feet and target through 18 (7/4 move left) and open my angles to have the focal point to the 10 pin. This shows the core differences have a great effect on ball motion when other factors are the same or close. The Black Widow Ghost is a powerful Pearl and surface adjustments could make it stronger.

Hammer Web MB (Layout: 45×5”x25*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

As you can see here the layouts are identical and the differences again are the cores, finishes are the same (500/1000 SiaAir/Crown Factory Compound) but the Web MB has the Semtex NE Pearl formulation. The Web MB is a great length and quick response ball for me. Getting the ball to the pocket and having the pins fall correctly, the feet and targeting were moved right and the launch angle was decreased slightly. The move was to 30/17 with a focal point of the left side of the 10 pin. The Ghost Pearl was 2/1 stronger with more traction in the midlane (creating a longer hook phase) compared to the Web MB. Changing the surface of the Ghost by removing the compound would add a better separation and length and shape between these two balls.

Hammer Black Widow 2.0 (Layout: 45×5”x25*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Again both are drilled the same. The Black Widow 2.0 has some lane shine, so a fresh cover would add more difference in when it reads friction, i.e. earlier hook. With the Aggression Solid cover the 2.0 read sooner and smoother than the Ghost. With the focal point staying the same (10 pin), my feet slid at 29 with targeting through 17 at the arrows. That’s a 3/1 move right, which makes sense since the Aggression Pearl cover will be more reactive near the end of the pattern.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Obsession Tour Pearl • Hammer Infamous

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Obsession and Hammer Obsession Tour as the base reaction and both been drilled with a layout of 55*x4-1/2”x35*. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67*. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. Hammer Obsession has less than 10 games on it, while the Hammer Obsession Tour has about 20.

 

Hammer Obsession Tour Pearl
(Layout: 55*x4-1/2”x35*)

Bowling on a fresh house shot (I believe 8:1 tapered), with my release, the lane surface friction, plus the volume of oil used the Obsession is just too strong and early to be productive. I instantly had to move into the 15-20 zone at the arrows and with the pattern at 40’, this made it tough to get a consistent reaction. My feet were at 31 and targeting at 19 with a projection point to 8-10 near the end of the pattern. The Obsession is made for more volume and it is good to have in the bag for heavier volumes, but not a match for me on what I was bowling on. Higher speed bowlers could be a better match up if their current equipment doesn’t read early enough on the fresh. Switching to the Obsession Tour, the smoother ball motion that the cover and milder asymmetric core allow me to move right but just a little. Feet were at 29 to 17 to the same point down lane and it is a better reaction. But I believe I would have to change soon as the heads begin to transition. Changing to the new Obsession Tour Pearl, I was able to more a bit more right (1/1) and the cover was easier to get through the front. Staying with the original Tour, speed had to be very consistent due to the strength of the coverstock. With the Tour Pearl, length was very good and there was a sharper but still controllable shape of the end of the pattern than the Tour Solid. The Tour Pearl would be nice choice for a ball down and possibly stay in the same area when High Performance solids start to read too early. It would be a great go to ball if solids start too soon and symmetrical pearls don’t recover fast enough on what you are bowling on. The shape of the Obsession Tour core when the cover read friction is so readable and easy to make moves. Of course, the gold color draws attention.

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. (Solid) 4-1/4” x 30* and Hammer Fugitive Solid 4-3/4”x30* as base reactions.The PAP used is 5-1/4”x1/4”^. All balls when tested were used with their box finish.

Hammer Infamous (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*)

Since the Infamous has a new core design and a version of the Envy Solid coverstock (without the CFI found on the Obsession), I wanted to compare it to a few recent releases as well as a solid symmetrical from 2020- the Hammer Fugitive Solid. Starting with the Web T.E., the launch angle was too open to keep the ball consistent. The lanes seemed to have more friction when I did this comparison than the normal fresh pattern. Changing to the Scorpion, it was a better read standing 27 and targeting 17 to 8-9 at the end of the pattern. Good clearance and hitting the pocket to strike. Switching to the new Web Pearl, I could stay in the same place and targeting but have a longer, sharper reaction with more recovery down lane than the Scorpion. Both struck well from there, just a different shape. This is one point I bring up during lessons is that some patterns will be scoring friendly to different types of balls depending on the volume and ratio in that area. The Fugitive Solid was a ball (along with the Fugitive Pearl) that got a bit lost during the closures we had due to local business restrictions. Moving 2/2 left, the Fugitive wanted to read early, so I tightened up the angle and kept it in the heavier volume. It also wanted to roll forward at the end of the pattern. Conclusion: it needed more volume and maybe a longer distance on this surface. Switching to the Infamous, it was a 5/2 move and opened my angles. It gave more length than the Fugitive (Higher RG 2.559 vs. 2.486) and has the opposing radial discs to help with length. I also added more axis rotation (60*-70*) to help the ball maintain more side roll and it helped the ball to strike. I would need more volume or a surface change to use on this type of pattern. For bowlers who used the Fugitive Solid but need more length and not as clean as a pearl or smoother surface, the Infamous would fit right in. The cover is very strong out of the box and tamed down a bit after some use. This statement gets confused with a loss of ball reaction but this is not the case here. The next day back on the lanes, the Infamous was much better for me. Still stronger lane any symmetrical I compared it to and a more consistent ball motion.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Web Pearl • Hammer Scorpion • Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4” x 30*. The PAP used is 5-1/4”x1/4”^. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. 

 Hammer Web Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*) 

Having never rolled the original Black/Silver released on 9/10/2019, I did drill them for some clients and I liked what I saw. The new Web Pearl has the same cover (with a slight finish adjustment), same Spheroid core and comes in a new color combo of Jade/Smoke. On the fresh, the Web Pearl handled the same volume as the Web T.E. Hybrid, but gave me a cleaner path and more miss room and recovery to strike. While promoted as a skid/flip reaction, I saw it as a somewhere in between the Web T.E. and the quicker reacting Web M.B. This is very good for league play with higher friction to start or when they transition after some games have been bowled on the pair. Alignment moves may be smaller and the cover can be adjusted. If you missed the first release or have been waiting for its return, you should grab them while you can. 

Hammer Scorpion (Layout: 4-3/4” x30*)

Seeing the tech sheet I was very interested in the Scorpion. I thought I would like this and I was happy to be right. Compared to the Web T.E. Hybrid, the Scorpion was 4/2 stronger, I could open my angles and it coasted through the body of the oil and rolled strong in the midlane and backend. The Scorpion would be a great transition from Asyms (Black Widow 2.0 of higher) to handle the volume, but smooth out the front to mid lane launch angle. The Core is the LED 2.0 and is an adjusted version (lower RG and higher diff) than the LED core found in the Purple Pearl Urethane and has the Semtex Hybrid cover (Dark Legend, Fierce Phobia). This may replace the Web T.E. Hybrid as my first ball out of the bag due to its versatility and response to release changes for different ball motions. The Scorpion and Web Pearl would make a great 1-2 punch for most league bowlers.

Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane (Layout: 4-1/4” x25*)

To be honest, I was an observer on all the hype over the original (2016) release. I wasn’t bowling much and didn’t see the need for a urethane reaction, although I have the Black Hammer Urethane and Black Widow Urethane. I just never used them much. I ordered a Purple Pearl to get answers. The OOB surface looks like it would stick to the lane. The first time I bowled with it was at the end of a practice session and the alignment was just inside of the track area which had opened up. 2 shots…NOPE! I didn’t like what I saw; the ball rolled too early and hit flat, but that is not what the ball is designed for. The next time when I was testing the above balls, I was in the body of the oil and striking with the Scorpion and decided, why not? When it came out of the volume, the reaction was very easy to read and adjust to. I can see it on short, med-heavy volume shots where controlling the friction and pocket is crucial. It may be a “let’s try this” choice when everything else is not looking good. A possible surface change or lane shine could change the reaction point. I think every serious tournament bowler should have one (some have many, many more) in their bag as an option. League only bowlers may not benefit from it on what they see daily; but it depends on the bowler’s specs, skill set and environment that should be factored in before purchasing. 

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Brunswick Knock Out • Hammer Black Widow 2.0 • Hammer Web M.B. Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4×30. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. 

Brunswick Knock Out
(Layout: 4-3/4”x30)

For a solid, this ball will clear the heads (at least on a fresh house pattern) and has a smooth, continuous move at the end of the pattern. From a rolling hand position to a release that creates more axis rotation the Knockout had different change in direction but still very versatile.

Comparing it to a Hammer Web Tour Hybrid (drilled close, 1/2″ pin closer to PAP) the Knock Out was 2/2 left and had more miss room to the right down lane. It also handled more volume than the Web T.E. Hybrid. Slower speed bowlers or bowlers that bowl on a lot of friction may need to adjust the cover or choose a ball designed for lighter volumes.

Hammer Black Widow 2.0 (Layout: 45×5”x25)

The Black Widow 2.0 gives the familiar shape as the original released in 2006. With an updated coverstock to handle today’s slicker conditioners, the R&D team hit this on the nose. Comparing it to the Web T.E. Hybrid, the BW 2.0 was 4/4 left and had a stronger back end reaction. Designed for medium to heavy volumes, it fits the bill. The cover might pick up lane shine quickly, but can be touched up with a pad or left as is to calm it down if that is needed in the environment you bowl on. The box finish seems too much for me on fresh (cliffed), but as the pattern developed I was able to use it with more confidence.

Hammer Web M.B (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Drilled the same as the BW 2.0, with the Web M.B. I could play in the same zone as the Web T.E. Hybrid but with a longer launch path and a more angular motion off the pattern. The combination of both Asym balls would make a good 1-2 punch. There’s enough difference in lengths, shapes and versatility to last a 3 and maybe 4 game league sessions. I could see straighter players using a Solid or Hybrid Sym then switch to the Web M.B. when the lanes transition or adjust the surface to get the ball to pick up motion earlier

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Raw Hammer Comparison

Hammer Raw Hammer Solid and Pearl (Blue/Silver/White)

Balls used for comparison:
Hammer Fugitive Solid & Hammer Fugitive Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4” x 30)

All balls when tested were used with their box finish.

When this line was announced, the first thing I thought of was “FINALLY!” The Hammer brand has needed this line since the Vibe series had been moved to the retired page. The Raws would be in the “More bang for your buck” category. While there is a third option, the Raw Hammer Hybrid, I have not tested it, but it’s safe to say it fits in between the Solid and the Pearl. This is not always the case in higher lines. The covers are friendly to surface changes, but don’t expect to create a higher level ball motion.

Hammer Raw Hammer Solid (Layout: 4-3/4” x 30)

The covers on the Solid and the Fugitive Solid are the same (Juiced Solid) but the Fugitive has a stronger core and rougher box surface and would handle higher volumes. On the fresh pattern, the Raw Solid easily could play where the Fugitive Solid was, but is cleaner through the mids. The reaction shape off the end of the pattern was continuous with no quick jump. You can see this ball creep higher as the lane opens up and this allows you to move ahead of the transition to keep the ball in the pocket. The Raw Solid would be a great fit for many bowlers and in transition situations which make it a very versatile piece.

Hammer Raw Hammer Pearl Blue/Silver/White (Layout: 4-3/4”x30)

Using the same approach line up and targeting as the Raw Solid, the Pearl clipped the head pin and destroyed the 3 pin. Moving 3/3 right and closing my angles (straighter) the ball struck. It’s very clean and the move on the back is a bit sharper, but I wouldn’t call it a skid/flip motion. I did change my hand position to add axis rotation and the Pearl went a touch longer but still didn’t flip hard. This is good when you encounter a lot of friction at the end of the pattern and you’re playing right of 10. I could play in the drier sections of the lane closer to the gutter and this ball made it look there was more conditioner than actually was. I tried the stronger Fugitive Solid there and it wasn’t going to be productive.

Overall for the price point (around $100 undrilled and pre-tax) the Raw series is what Hammer Bowling needed. First it re-introduces a popular core with 3 different versions of the Juiced cover and it brings a ball that is not too strong for bowlers that have slower speeds, closed angles, but more importantly a ball series that would be a great introduction to casual or new bowlers. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause consistency and scoring issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

FTF Ball Comparison Intro

Welcome to Fill The Frames Bowling Services’ ball comparison reports. These will be my personal feedback from balls that I have drilled and used in training and competition. Because there are always bowlers who are new or are trying to learn more, I will try and keep this easy to understand. If there are any bowling terms that need clarifying, please use the contact information located at the bottom and send me your questions. 

Like most ball reviews, the bowler’s specs are important to have in order to match up the bowler and ball to the environment they bowl on frequently. Versatility is the goal when considering new equipment. Below you will find my specs. It is important to remember that a ball that works for one bowler may not work for another based on the bowler’s specs, especially the Positive Axis Point (PAP). 

Right Handed
Positive Axis Point 5-1/4”x1/4”^
Axis Rotation 60˚
Axis Tilt
Rev Rate 250-300
Speed off the hand 16.5 m.p.h. 

Looking at these specs you will see that I’m not a very high rev rate bowler but I have a high track and low tilt. This creates a ball roll that could read friction almost as soon as the ball touches it. For me to use balls designed with coverstocks that cut through oil and cores that rev up earlier (low rg), there better be a lot of volume for me to get a good ball motion. Most of my Asyms have layouts with a drilling angles 45-55*, Pin to PAPs from 4-1/2” to 5” and Vertical Axis Lines (VAL) 25-30*. On Syms the Pin to PAPs are usually around 4-1/4” to 4-3/4” and the VAL are usually around 30* 

As a Hammer Staff member, I try the balls in the line and others under the Brunswick umbrella. If there are balls with the same core but different covers, I will drill them the same to see the length and shape differences. Once I compare them with their out of box finish, I may change the surface to increase the versatility and open my scoring chances. 

Understanding your personal specs and equipment will help you score higher and make better ball changes when needed. Contact us and we can set up a consultation session to help your growth as a bowler. The information and pricing is located on the Coaching & Services tab on our website. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Regionand Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information and Demo dates in your area. Again, you can contact me with any questions at info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901. 

Thank You,
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

FTF Review Archive

Comparison Report Introduction

Follow this link to get a deeper understanding of how we compared the new equipment to a baseline ball.

FTF Ball Comparison Intro