Reviews & Views

Track Strata Hybrid (WWRD 06/03/2021)

 

Track Strata Hybrid

The buzz around the High Performance Track Strata has been huge on social media and personal high scores are being reported. Track now brings a compliment to the big hooking ball suited for medium to heavy volumes, the Track Strata Hybrid. The color scheme is a combo of Sapphire/Black/Smoke and uses the new QR-11 Hybrid coverstock. QR stands for Quick Response   and the higher the number means the potential for a sharper direction change.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.TrackBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical The Spy (WWRD 06/17/2021)

 

Radical The Spy 

Radical Bowling has added a new combo in technology to their line. The Spy has a textured polyester coverstock and adds the popular Incognito core to help create length and more movement down lane than a regular polyester ball. High rev, slower speed bowlers who do find the milder reactive balls still too much, now have another option. The Spy is available in weights 14-16lbs and comes in Red/Black. Oh, they added DynamiCore for added durability.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical Maximum Results (WWRD 06/17/2021)

 

Radical- Maximum Results 

The Results core has given Radical Fans a reaction that hadn’t been seen in from Radical Bowling. So what does Radical lab do? They keep the TS-1 Solid cover and strengthen the core numbers to create a stronger mid-lane ball. The Maximum Results would help high speed, low rev bowlers read most volumes better. Its primary design is for heavy volumes for those how need more traction. The solid black, textured cover doesn’t hurt either.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

DV8 Activ8 (WWRD 06/3/2021)

 

 DV8- Activ8 

High rev bowlers and 2 handers who are looking for more control and others who are looking for a ball to switch to when the lanes break down should take a good look at the newest introduction from DV8 Bowling, the Activ8. In the Mid performance line this shiny, symmetrical comes in Black/Silver/Purple and the cover is the Composite Fang Hybrid (last used on the Notorious). Also, there’s a new core with the sweet diff of .040. This ball would fit solidly between the  Decrees for light to medium volumes.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.DV8Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane (WWRD 07/1/2021)

Core 16-15
Core 14
Core 13-12

Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane

It’s back and is the same as before, fantastic! Hammer is using the same Urethane cover and same LED Core. What’s new is that in the 14lb weight has the Carbon Fiber Inner Core and now there are new lighter weight options in 12 and 13 lbs. If you are looking to control the friction down lane or are bowling on shorter patterns, the Hammer Purple Pearl may be a solid choice for you

www.HammerBowling.com

Recommended cleaner: Hammer Tough Scrub.

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Polyester Balls

Brunswick TZone - Galactic Sparkle
White Dot - Black/Blue/ Silver
C300 - Blue Dot
Maxim -Peek-A-Boo Berry

 

Brunswick T-Zone Galactic Sparkle (WWRD 04/15/2021) The T-Zones have a new color that expands the polyester line. This gives 7 color choices for a new poly or for a first ball to call your own. To see the other choices, please go to www.brunswickbowling.com add search for Polyester.

Columbia300 WD Blue/Black/Silver (WWRD 04/15/2021) One of C300’s most popular color combos are back! This brings the total to 7 color choices from one of the iconic polyesters in history. Visit www.Columbia300Bowling.com to see for yourself! 

Columbia300 Blue Dot (WWRD 04/15/2021) The hardest polyester on a Durometer scale is back by popular demand. This ball is as straight as you can roll it. It come in 12-16lbs and is the only other C300 poly that is available in 16lbs. Other bowlers will notice this silver beauty going down the lanes.

 Ebonite Maxim Peek-A-Boo-Berry (WWRD 04/15/2021) Are you an Ebonite Maxim fan? There are now 5 color combos to choose from. Whether you’re looking for your first ball, a gift for someone special or need help with those pesky corner pins, the Ebonite Maxims deserve some attention. Find them at www.ebonite.com

Find all of these great choices at: www.ebonite.com • www.BrunswickBowling.com • www.Columbia300Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Entry Level Balls

Twist -    Lavender/Lime
Twist Core
Rhino - Magenta/Purple
Rhino Core
The Beast - Lime/Sky/Black
The Beast Core

Brunswick- Twist (WWRD 06/03/2021) The Brunswick Twist has added a new color to the line, Lavender/Lime. This makes a total of 5 beautiful choices. In the Affordable Control level, they are a great introduction to bowlers who want to move up from polyester while still having some fun. The cover is the same as the one used on the popular Rhino series.

Brunswick- Rhino (WWRD 06/03/2021) The Brunswick Affordable All Purpose line discontinued 2 color schemes and adds another, the Magenta/Purple/Navy. The R-16 Solid cover combined with the light bulb shaped core makes the Rhinos a great choice for those new to bowling, league bowlers and bowlers who need control on high friction lanes. Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge

 Columbia300- The Beast Hybrid (WWRD 06/03/2021) The C300 Beast Series has a long time fan base that enjoys consistency at a value price point. Currently there are 2 color combos with the Bend-It Pearl coverstock and now there are 3 choices using the Bend-It Hybrid Cover. The new color is Lime/Sky/Black and all have the light bulb shaped Beast core (except in10-11 lbs.) Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

Find all of these great choices at: www.BrunswickBowling.com • www.Columbia300Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Raw Hammers (WWRD 5/3/21)

Hammer Raw Hammer (Solid) The Raw core is back! This time it’s paired with 3 versions of the popular Juiced coverstocks. First up is the Raw Hammer Solid. The Solid is finished at 500/1500/3K Siaair for medium volumes that will give a strong arcing ball motion. In Hammer’s history, the Juiced Solid has been on the Fugitive Solid, Ruthless and Diesel Torque. With today’s slicker conditioners, some older black balls (rubber) have not been performing well for bowlers and are the bane of mechanics worldwide. This ball would be a great replacement for traditionalists who may    require a new weight while adding performance.

 Hammer Raw Hammer (Hybrid) In the past, there was only one ball that used a version of the Juiced Hybrid cover. It was the Bad Intentions Hybrid but that formulation was the Juiced Extreme Hybrid. This new version is cleaner for light to medium volumes. The colors are Orange and Black, so you know it’s a Hammer. The box finish is 500/1K/2K Siaair with Crown Factory Compound for easy length and a strong backend.                   

Hammer Raw Hammer (Pearl) The Raw Hammers with the Juiced Pearl covers come in two beautiful color combos. One is Blue/Silver/White and the other is Purple/Pink/Silver. Both are finished at 500/1K/2K Siaair with Crown Factory Polish for added length and will help create a skid/flip motion. The Hammer Fugitive, Flawless and Rebel Yell were the last 3 balls that used the Juiced Pearl coverstock.

All 4 balls have the carbon fiber outer core for durability and come with a 2 year warranty from the purchase date. Hammer does use an alternate core for weights in 13-12lbs. and just carbon fiber in the 10-11lbs.

www.HammerBowling.com

Recommended cleaner: Hammer Tough Scrub.

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Obsession Tour (WWRD 2/18/21)

 

Hammer Obsession Tour

The Hammer Obsession Tour shares the same core shape as the Obsession with the difference being the flip block has been removed. This will create less flare, less hook and a more controllable reaction compared to the regular Obsession. This would allow bowlers to stay in the same area of the lane while maintaining a smooth reaction. The core numbers on 15lbs are RG 2.469 DIFF .034 ASY DIFF .013. The biggest number change is the differential being .016 less than the Obsession. Another difference is the coverstock which is an updated version of the Tour cover found on the Web Tour balls, the Tour V2 Solid. This combination is great if a bowler is uncomfortable moving in or for a high rev player looking for control. Personally, I like the Web Tours and I see this being a big brother for more volumes. The color is a solid Burgundy finished at 500/1000 Siaair Micro Pad. The 12 and 13lbers have the same adjusted core in both balls with only the difference being the coverstock.

www.HammerBowling.com

Recommended cleaner: Hammer Tough Scrub.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Obsession (WWRD 2/18/2021)


Hammer Obsession

Since the acquisition of the Hammer Brand by Brunswick Bowling, there have been questions asking if Hammer will be releasing equipment using Durability Optimization Technology (D.O.T.). The answer now is yes with the release of the new Obsession and Obsession Tour. Combining both with the Carbon Fiber Infused Inner Core adds durability and will come with a 2 year warranty from the date of purchase. The Hammer Obsession has a new coverstock named the Envy Solid CFI, which is designed for heavy volumes. The new Asymmetric Core gives a 15lb ball the specs of- RG 2.468 DIFF .050 ASY DIFF .013. With a finish of 500/1500 Siaair Micro Pad it all adds up to an aggressive midlane and backend reaction. The colors are Black/Pink/Burgundy with a great looking logo. As the lanes transition, your next move may be into the Hammer Obsession Tour. 

 

www.HammerBowling.com

Recommended cleaner: Hammer Tough Scrub.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Brunswick Knock Out Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4×30. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. 

Brunswick Knock Out (Layout: 4-3/4”x30)

For a solid, this ball will clear the heads (at least on a fresh house pattern) and has a smooth, continuous move at the end of the pattern. From a rolling hand position to a release that creates more axis rotation the Knockout had different change in direction but still very versatile.

Comparing it to a Hammer Web Tour Hybrid (drilled close, 1/2″ pin closer to PAP) the Knock Out was 2/2 left and had more miss room to the right down lane. It also handled more volume than the Web T.E. Hybrid. Slower speed bowlers or bowlers that bowl on a lot of friction may need to adjust the cover or choose a ball designed for lighter volumes.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Web M.B Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4×30. All balls when tested were used with their box finish.

 

Hammer Web M.B (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Drilled the same as the BW 2.0, with the Web M.B. I could play in the same zone as the Web T.E. Hybrid but with a longer launch path and a more angular motion off the pattern. The combination of both Asym balls would make a good 1-2 punch. There’s enough difference in lengths, shapes and versatility to last a 3 and maybe 4 game league sessions. I could see straighter players using a Solid or Hybrid

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Black Widow 2.0 Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4×30. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. 

Hammer Black Widow 2.0
(Layout: 45×5”x25)

The Black Widow 2.0 gives the familiar shape as the original released in 2006. With an updated coverstock to handle today’s slicker conditioners, the R&D team hit this on the nose. Comparing it to the Web T.E. Hybrid, the BW 2.0 was 4/4 left and had a stronger back end reaction. Designed for medium to heavy volumes, it fits the bill. The cover might pick up lane shine quickly, but can be touched up with a pad or left as is to calm it down if that is needed in the environment you bowl on. The box finish seems too much for me on fresh (cliffed), but as the pattern developed I was able to use it with more confidence.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Raw Hammer Comparison

Hammer Raw Hammer Solid and Pearl (Blue/Silver/White)

Balls used for comparison:
Hammer Fugitive Solid & Hammer Fugitive Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4” x 30)

All balls when tested were used with their box finish.

When this line was announced, the first thing I thought of was “FINALLY!” The Hammer brand has needed this line since the Vibe series had been moved to the retired page. The Raws would be in the “More bang for your buck” category. While there is a third option, the Raw Hammer Hybrid, I have not tested it, but it’s safe to say it fits in between the Solid and the Pearl. This is not always the case in higher lines. The covers are friendly to surface changes, but don’t expect to create a higher level ball motion.

Hammer Raw Hammer Solid (Layout: 4-3/4” x 30)

The covers on the Solid and the Fugitive Solid are the same (Juiced Solid) but the Fugitive has a stronger core and rougher box surface and would handle higher volumes. On the fresh pattern, the Raw Solid easily could play where the Fugitive Solid was, but is cleaner through the mids. The reaction shape off the end of the pattern was continuous with no quick jump. You can see this ball creep higher as the lane opens up and this allows you to move ahead of the transition to keep the ball in the pocket. The Raw Solid would be a great fit for many bowlers and in transition situations which make it a very versatile piece.

Hammer Raw Hammer Pearl Blue/Silver/White (Layout: 4-3/4”x30)

Using the same approach line up and targeting as the Raw Solid, the Pearl clipped the head pin and destroyed the 3 pin. Moving 3/3 right and closing my angles (straighter) the ball struck. It’s very clean and the move on the back is a bit sharper, but I wouldn’t call it a skid/flip motion. I did change my hand position to add axis rotation and the Pearl went a touch longer but still didn’t flip hard. This is good when you encounter a lot of friction at the end of the pattern and you’re playing right of 10. I could play in the drier sections of the lane closer to the gutter and this ball made it look there was more conditioner than actually was. I tried the stronger Fugitive Solid there and it wasn’t going to be productive.

Overall for the price point (around $100 undrilled and pre-tax) the Raw series is what Hammer Bowling needed. First it re-introduces a popular core with 3 different versions of the Juiced cover and it brings a ball that is not too strong for bowlers that have slower speeds, closed angles, but more importantly a ball series that would be a great introduction to casual or new bowlers. 

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause consistency and scoring issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

FTF Ball Comparison Intro

Welcome to Fill The Frames Bowling Services’ ball comparison reports. These will be my personal feedback from balls that I have drilled and used in training and competition. Because there are always bowlers who are new or are trying to learn more, I will try and keep this easy to understand. If there are any bowling terms that need clarifying, please use the contact information located at the bottom and send me your questions. 

Like most ball reviews, the bowler’s specs are important to have in order to match up the bowler and ball to the environment they bowl on frequently. Versatility is the goal when considering new equipment. Below you will find my specs. It is important to remember that a ball that works for one bowler may not work for another based on the bowler’s specs, especially the Positive Axis Point (PAP). 

Right Handed
Positive Axis Point 5-1/4”x1/4”^
Axis Rotation 60˚
Axis Tilt
Rev Rate 250-300
Speed off the hand 16.5 m.p.h. 

Looking at these specs you will see that I’m not a very high rev rate bowler but I have a high track and low tilt. This creates a ball roll that could read friction almost as soon as the ball touches it. For me to use balls designed with coverstocks that cut through oil and cores that rev up earlier (low rg), there better be a lot of volume for me to get a good ball motion. Most of my Asyms have layouts with a drilling angles 45-55*, Pin to PAPs from 4-1/2” to 5” and Vertical Axis Lines (VAL) 25-30*. On Syms the Pin to PAPs are usually around 4-1/4” to 4-3/4” and the VAL are usually around 30* 

As a Hammer Staff member, I try the balls in the line and others under the Brunswick umbrella. If there are balls with the same core but different covers, I will drill them the same to see the length and shape differences. Once I compare them with their out of box finish, I may change the surface to increase the versatility and open my scoring chances. 

Understanding your personal specs and equipment will help you score higher and make better ball changes when needed. Contact us and we can set up a consultation session to help your growth as a bowler. The information and pricing is located on the Coaching & Services tab on our website. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Regionand Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information and Demo dates in your area. Again, you can contact me with any questions at info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901. 

Thank You,
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

FTF Review Archive

Comparison Report Introduction

Follow this link to get a deeper understanding of how we compared the new equipment to a baseline ball.

FTF Ball Comparison Intro