Reviews & Views

Columbia Cuda PowerCOR (WWRD 09/23/2022)

 

Columbia300 Cuda PowerCOR 12-16 lbs. (@15 lbs 2.501  .047  DynamiCore/D.O.T. • Alternate core 12-13 lbs)

The original Cuda introduced a new design in core technology. Updating it to the new drillable Cuda PowerCOR (interchangeable thumb friendly) and surrounding it with the ERT Solid cover found on the C300 Power Torq Solid will be a great option for medium to heavy volumes. Adding a dense flip block away from the center creates more differential and imbalance. Built with D.O.T. and DynamiCore adds the ultimate in drilling options and durability. A strong, solid symmetrical is a must in every bowler’s bag. The color is very familiar at Burgundy/Black with pink engraving.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.columbia300.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Scorpion Sting (WWRD 09/23/2022)

 

Hammer Scorpion Sting - 12-16 lbs (@15 lbs  2.485  .045 D.O.T. • Alternate core 12-13 lbs.)

  The Hammer Scorpion has continued to be a great seller since its release last year. For a mid-performance ball it gives bowlers a lot of hook for the money. As lanes transition, bowlers could need something cleaner and more reactive later down lane. Instead of putting a pearl cover on the same core, Hammer has modified the core to increase the RG and Differential to create the ball motion that’s needed. The Scorpion Sting will be great for medium volumes and for bowlers who are rev dominate but are looking for more pop at the end of the pattern. There’s a lot performance for this ball at this price point. This one looks fantastic too in the colors of Teal/Silver/Purple and of course the inner core is carbon fiber infused for durability.

Recommended cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.HammerBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Envy (WWRD 09/23/2022)

 

Hammer Envy - 12-16 lbs (@15lbs  2.505  .055  .021  D.O.T. • Alternate core 12-13 lbs.)

Overall ball motion on heavy volumes. This is how the new Hammer Envy was designed. The new Launcher core has both a flip block and radial disc technology. The cover is the Envy solid last used on the Hammer Obsession (minus the CFI). The engine is stronger than the Obsession Tour to more than make up for cover change. The Hammer Envy is going to rev up early, so make sure you match it up to how you attack heavy volumes. The colors on this one are Black/Red/Orange to make it easily identifiable as a Hammer ball from a distance.

Recommended cleaner: Power House Clean N’ Dull

www.HammerBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Ebonite The One Remix (WWRD 9/23/2022)

 

Ebonite The One Remix 12-16 lbs. (@15 lbs  2.466  .056  .027  DynamiCore/D.O.T. • Alternate core 12-13 lbs)

One of the most popular Ebonite balls has returned! Same great Centrex core now with DynamiCore/D.O.T., a stronger coverstock (GB 14.4 Solid) will take care of medium to heavy oil volumes. A quick look at the core numbers screams strong. Although it comes shiny, you can adjust the cover to suit your needs. Look for a good length and strong backend reaction on volumes it is designed for or if you are speed dominate. The eye appealing colors of Teal/Purple/Violet will be noticed right away on the lanes.

 Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.ebonite.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Track Paragon Hybrid (WWRD 8/19/2022)

 

Track Paragon Hybrid

  The Track Paragon Hybrid complements the solid Paragon Solid perfectly. Track fans saw the I-Core 3.0 provide an earlier revving motion than the Paradox line. The QR-11 Hybrid coverstock will give a cleaner and stronger back end reaction that would be a transition ball when higher volumes change or a High Performance choice on medium volumes for most bowlers looking for a stronger ball for competition. The Grape/Amethyst/Sapphire colors will stand out on the ball return.

Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge

www.TrackBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Brunswick Melee Jab Carbon (WWRD 08/19/2022)

 

 Brunswick Melee Jab Carbon 

The Melee core continues to be a staple for Brunswick in the Jab and Knock Out lines. The difference is the coverstock. Changing from the very clean cover of the Melee Jab Midnight Blue to the stronger A.X.H. Pearl (last found on the Zenith Pearl) you will still see a clean through the fronts but an earlier motion in the mid lane. The surface can be fine tuned to get the motion you need to score higher on medium volumes. This ball will be very good for many bowlers and won’t break the bank.

 Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge 

www.BrunswickBowling.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Brunswick Quantum Evo Hybrid (WWRD 8/19/2022)

Brunswick Quantum EVO Hybrid

The Pro level of equipment is where the Quantums belong. With newer technology of core shapes, D.O.T. and DynamiCore2, medium to heavy volumes aren’t much trouble for the entire line. The new core numbers will create a targeted shape that fits perfectly with the Evolution Reactive Hybrid coverstock. At 500/2000 Siaair Micro pad, the surface can be easily tuned to fit your game and environments you bowl on. The colors are a beautiful combo of Lime/Sky/Silver. Check into this ball as a high performance choice for your arsenal.

 Recommended Cleaner: Brunswick Reaction Recharge

www.BrunswickBowling.com  

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

DV8 Hellcat (WWRD 8/19/2022)

 

DV8 Hellcat

Taking the Hell Raiser core to another level, the new DV8 HellCat cover (Havoc) is smoother in oil than the super strong Hell Raiser Blaze, but more than the “Skid/Flip” cover of the Hell Raiser Return. Built for use on medium to heavy conditions, the HellCat could be a good choice for speed dominant bowlers where pearls and some hybrids aren’t strong enough to read the back of the pattern. The HellCat colors are Purple/Red/Black and finished at 500/2000 Siaair Micro Pad. This surface prep gives a strong midlane and backend motion. The DV8 HellCat will be the strongest solid in the current line.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.DV8Bowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical Crypto (WWRD 8/5/2022)

 

Radical Crypto

The new Radical Crypto will fit in most bowler’s arsenals as a strong solid symmetrical that has a continuous mid-lane motion. Some bowlers have a bit of a struggle with big asyms, but still need a ball that can cut through fresh or heavy volumes. The Ai-45 cover around the great core numbers will be very versatile. The box finish is 500/2000 Siaair but can be easily adjusted to customize the length. Going down the lane, the color scheme of Royal/Orange/Black will get noticed along with all the strikes! The Radical Crypto is in the Reliable line, which is a great price point.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Radical Trail Blazer Solid (WWRD 8/5/2022)

 

Radical Trail Blazer Solid 

A new release has been added to the Radical Top Shelf line- the Trail Blazer Solid. Having the same Mo designed core that’s in the Trail Blazer Pearl, but with the Motion Magic Solid cover with a box surface of 500/2000 Siaair. This cover/core combo will produce hook even on the highest volumes. A lot of power and continuations is expected out of the new Radical Trail Blazer Solid. The colors are Black/Grey/Blue for that subtle but strong feel.

Recommended Cleaner: Ultimate Black Magic Rejuvenator

www.RadicalBowling.com

Please visit each brand’s website for more specification information and where you can sign up for first to know emails. You can also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter. I’d also like to ask you and your friends to like the Brands of Brunswick Demo Program-West Region and Bowling Buckosh pages on Facebook to get the newest information. Again, you can contact me with any questions at www.info@filltheframes.com or (310) 784-1901.

Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services
Hammer U.S. Staff – California

Hammer Scorpion Sting Comparison

Welcome to Fill The Frames Bowling Services’ ball comparison report of the Hammer Scorpion Sting. The Hammer Scorpion Sting is the newest addition to the Mid-Performance line. It has been designed to add more motion at the back end and compliment the popular Hammer Scorpion’s shape.

Hammer Scorpion Sting 2.485 .045  (4-1/2”x 35*)

Comparison to the Hammer Scorpion, Hammer Web Pearl (’21), Hammer Ocean Vibe

The Scorpion Sting is built with a new LED 3.0 core and the return of the Semtex Pearl coverstock. The core has a lower RG and a slightly higher diff. The addition of flip block will generate a clean path through the heads on medium volumes or as transitions happen in during a bowling session. A choice could be to go to a stronger cover/core combo, but that may be too strong. This depends on volumes in different zones. I see this ball close to the Web Pearl but adding more shape down lane than the Scorpion. If you don’t have a Web Pearl, the Sting would fit between the BW Ghost and the Ocean Vibe. Depending on a center’s oiling procedures, a bowler’s style and adjustment ability I can see this ball getting a lot of use for leagues by many bowlers. A slight surface change may open up the motion a bit very much like the Ocean Vibe. Always move around the lane to see what each ball has in terms of strengths and limits in addition to your adjustment abilities.

Hammer Scorpion 2.520 .043 (4-3/4”x 30*)

When the Scorpion was released, I was very interested to roll this ball. The combination of the updated LED2.0 core with the proven Semtex Hybrid cover would give me a similar rolling shape as the Purple Pearl Urethane. It was stronger and more forgiving than the Purple on a daily center’s pattern. Not a long rolling path, but a more controlled motion that is easy to read and make adjustments as transition happens. The Scorpion as a benchmark without too much surface allows me to read the fresh quickly. The drilling layout was close to what I have in the Scorpion Sting and I also refreshed the cover to 500/1K/2K Siaair.

Comparison: The Scorpion Sting is longer than the Scorpion and more angular (not sharp) off the end of the pattern. Same part of the lane shows a slight difference, but changing hand positions give the Scorpion Sting more hooking shape later down lane. I could move 5/3 in, change to a more angular creating hand position and open my angles and the Sting recovered and struck.

Hammer Web Pearl (Jade/Smoke) 2.481 .048 (4-3/4”x 30*)

My current favorite choice as a non solid, smoother cover benchmark ball to start with. It seems I can use this ball everywhere. Comparing the two, the Sting is a bit cleaner and a more rounded shape off the end of the pattern. On a pattern with more oil in the middle and some built in friction toward the channels, most out balls can be played in the same area through the heads. I believe there would be a more shape separation on flatter patterns with the Scorpion Sting being later in motion. 

Comparison: The Scorpion Sting is close to the Web Pearl.But my targeting and angles were more closed to keep it in the oil for the Web Pearl. Friction is the friend of the Scorpion Sting. A great choice if upper mids are too strong.

Hammer Ocean Vibe  2.510 .042 (4”x 35*)

If you bowl on friction or medium and lighter volumes the Ocean Vibe will do the job. While the response to friction is pretty quick, it’s not super fast. But the directional change will tell you where the friction is. This is another great addition to the Vibe legacy. When the ball hits too much volume, it tends to over skid. However, slightly adjusting the cover allow for more miss room. The Scorpion Sting will handle more volume than the Ocean Vibe and is very hand position friendly to change ball roll and motion.

Comparison: The Scorpion Sting will fit almost directly between a stronger pearl (core and cover) Black Widow Ghost and the Ocean Vibe. Almost gives you the best of both worlds at a great price point. Even though the Scorpion Sting and the Ocean vibe are in the same level, they are different and there is a price difference.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the past and current Hammer lines. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Envy Comparison

Welcome to Fill The Frames Bowling Services’ ball comparison report of the Hammer Envy. The Hammer Envy which is designed to be Hammer’s strongest ball ever. This comparison was done with the balls below and using Hammer Dark Web as a warm up and benchmark motion.

The pattern is 43’ that has 12:1 ratio with a moderate taper front to back and a strong drop off at 7 on each side with approximately 25mls.  My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 6* and I’m considered matched rev rate to off the hand ball speed which is about 17.25 mph. All the noted core numbers are at 15lbs pre-drilled. I prefer to keep my drilling similar for comparison reasons. However, please check any changes. I will note if I would adjust the layout to what I believe would benefit the ball’s design.

Hammer Envy 2.505 .055 .021 (45*x4-1/2”x 45*)

Comparison to the Hammer Dark Web, Hammer Black Widow 2.0, Hammer Obsession

While the Obsession was the last HP ball for oil, this one is closer to the Redemption Solid in shape and it’s stronger and more continuous through the pins. Personally, I can’t use strong solid asyms very often due to my speed and the amount of friction I see most of the time. They have a tendency to roll forward of the back of the pattern and my reaction area is limited. However, I can use them on more volume and longer lengths. Out of the box, the surface cut through the freshly oiled lane and I was “here I go again”. After getting some shots in the ball did not weaken, but became more readable as it went down the lane. There was over 6” of flare and this proved the need for more volume for me to use it efficiently. With the new Launcher core, revving up was easy and progressively stronger throughout the ball motion phases. The Envy began to rev up just past the arrows and kept building. With the radical disc and the flip block opposing each other, the Envy had more directional change at the end of the pattern. With some hand position changes, there was more change of direction than I’ve seen at this ball level. I was seeing a ball reaction that I normally see in the upper-mid and mid Hammer lines on what we see on a daily basis. Touching the friction too soon will not give anyone (other than speed dominate bowlers) a good reaction. Bowlers who are speed dominate and has other equipment not read soon enough, the Hammer Envy would be an excellent choice. If you are a tournament bowler whose current arsenal struggles on higher volumes or is too jumpy on Sport patterns, the Envy should get a good look.

Hammer Dark Web 2.514 .048 (4”x35*)

Being on fresh the Hammer Dark Web might be a touch to strong for me with its box finish. The striking alignment was feet at 25, targeting 13 at the arrows and the focal point was between the 6/10. This kept the ball in the oil and didn’t touch the friction too soon down lane. 

Comparison: The Dark Web is smoother than the Envy and a great choice for daily volumes as a benchmark. The Envy struck at32/19/6.

Hammer Black Widow 2.0 2.500 .058 .016 (45*x5”x25*)

The cover of the Dark Web and 2.0 are the same Aggression Solid although the 2.0 is smoother (500/1K/2K Siaair) out of the box. Going back to the alignment of the Dark Web the move was 2/2 left to get to the pocket. Switching to the Envy I had to move (30/18/R10) and added axis rotation and tilt to see what the Envy could do. 

Comparison: The Envy would be a ball to switch to if the 2.0 quits when moving to more volume (and that’s saying something).

Hammer Obsession 2.468 .050 .013 (55*x4-1/2”x35*)

The coverstocks on the Obsession and the Envy are the same formulation (Envy Solid), however the Obsession had CFI (Carbon Fiber Infused) added. Since the Envy has a stronger core, Hammer adjusted the cover to get the motion they wanted. Both are box at 500/1500 Siaair Micro Pad. The number that stands out is the RG which comes in at 2.505 vs. the 2.468. The higher number usually helps the ball get further down the lane. This is where the balance of the core and cover hit the intended motion on the volume for most bowlers. Starting where I was lined up with the Dark Web (25/14/6-10) my move was (28/16/10) due to the strength of the ball.

Comparison: The Envy was stronger overall with recovery that was better even if it hits the friction earlier down lane. The Envy was 4/3 left.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the past and current Hammer lines. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Dark Web Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Web Tour Edition, Hammer Web Tour Edition Hybrid, Hammer Web Pearl ‘21

With the WWRD of 07/08/22, Hammer Bowling adds a new core to the Web series in the Hammer Dark Web. The coverstock is the same Aggression Solid that is found on the Hammer Black Widow 2.0. The 2.0 has a box finish of 500/1K/2k Siaair Micro Pad, while the Dark Web is finished at 500, 1500 Siaair Micro Pad. The new core is named the Modified Spheroid which has a flip block on the top of the body that will help increase overall ball motion. The pattern is a fresh 42’ pattern that is approximately 8:1 ratio with a moderate taper. I have not been able to get the exact number from the center so this is my best guess. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to off the hand ball speed which is about 17.25 mph. All core numbers are at 15lbs pre-drilled.

Hammer Dark Web – 2.514 .048 • (4”x 35*)

Comparison to the Hammer Web Tour Edition, Hammer Web Tour Edition Hybrid, Hammer Web Pearl ‘21

The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Raw Solid 2.537 .038 (4-3/4”x30*). As I warmed up, I found the Raw reading the lane very well standing 24, targeting with an open angle at 13 and a focal point of the 10 pin. Stronger covers in this center read early and being in the volume helps the ball shape out and the pin carry is very good.

 Hammer Web Tour Edition – 2.470 .030 • (4-1/4”x30*)

Due to the surface and formulation of the Web T.E., it was a bit earlier than the Raw Solid and more controlled because of the diff. Being on fresh, there was enough volume where I didn’t have to move. The motion was smoother and earlier than the Raw if I hit the lighter volume to the right early. Moving in and changing hand rotation had its limits and the T.E. wouldn’t recover, but it is designed for control.

Hammer Web Tour Edition Hybrid – 2.470 .030 • (4-1/4”x30*)

The same core in this ball is the same as the T.E. The Hybrid coverstock played better on the fresh with the same smooth ball motion but the cover allowed an easier, cleaner path to the breakpoint. Also a change in hand position allowed for more options and made the pattern very playable. A good option of fresh, however this ball is out of production.

Hammer Web Pearl ’21 – 2.481 .048 • (4-3/4”x30*)

The Web Pearl is a personal favorite. The coverstock is the same as the one on the Black Widow Ghost. A minor move left and moving my eyes in a bit gave the Web Pearl a great reaction. It’s more angular than both of the T.E.s due to the flip block and the Aggression Pearl cover. I wound up standing 27, targeting 15 at the arrows and the focal point was between the 6/10.

Hammer Dark Web – 2.514 .048 • (4”x 35*)

The Dark Web was clean while producing early revolutions. However, the core dynamics helped the ball get down the lane. Out of the pattern the motion was surprising for a solid. Not too rounded, not to angular. Again, if I hit the friction early to the right, the Dark Web would start its direction change too early. High speed bowlers will find the Dark Web to their liking. As I kept moving and adding axis rotation and tilt to prolong the reaction, I was able to get to 34, targeting 20 at the arrows and keeping the focal point at 6/10. The Dark Web kept coming and striking. I think I could have moved more before a flat 10 would have shown up. This release is very versatile and I can see adjusting the cover to any style a plus. This will slot under the Black Widows, but is not much weaker in reaction: just a shape change and more bowler friendly than large adjustments with the Gas Mask Core. I agree with other testers that the Hammer Dark Web would be a great go to ball in the Hammer line to start with. You may even stay in it longer than you think.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the past and current Hammer lines. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Ocean Vibe Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Ocean Vibe, Hammer Raw Pearl & Hammer Web pearl

Another anticipated release on 07/08/2022 from Hammer Bowling is the Hammer Ocean Vibe. Many bowlers are excited to see the Vibe line reemerge and it was worth the wait. The pattern is a slightly bowled on (4 games with Solids) 42’ pattern that is approximately 8:1 ratio with a moderate taper. I have not been able to get the exact number from the center so this is my best guess. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to off the hand ball speed which is about 17.25 mph. All core numbers are at 15lbs pre-drilled.

Hammer Ocean Vibe – 2.510 .042 • (4”x 35*)

Comparison to the Hammer Raw Pearl, Hammer Web Pearl ‘21. 
The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Raw Solid 2.537 .038 (4-3/4”x30*)

After comparing the Hammer Dark Web and the Track Stealth, some of the conditioner was taken off the lane and board right of 8 started to open up. Starting with the Raw Solid again, I was 4/2 left (28/15) with a slightly closed angle to the focal point between the 6 and 10 pins than what I started on the fresh. A ball change was needed to get a better conclusion.

 Hammer Raw Pearl – 2.537 .038 • (4-3/4”x30*)

Switching to the Raw Pearl to compare pearl to pearl made the test easier. The Raw Pearl is drilled the same as the Raw Solid. The only difference is the coverstock and prep. The cover was transferred over from the Fugitive Pearl (as was the Solid) and is much stronger than entry level balls. I moved a bit right (27/15) and saw a cleaner motion in the same part of the lane. It was pretty easy to get to the pocket as a switch when the transition happened. The shape out of the pattern was rounded and makes adjustments simple. This made the Raws look like a good 1-2 punch for the money. Look into both, if you are in need of new equipment and budgeting.

Hammer Web Pearl ’21 – 2.481 .048 • (4-3/4”x30*)

Changing to the Web Pearl, it’s easy to see that this is a stronger pearl and core combo. I could move in gradually and open up the lane. The Web pearl was earlier and stronger in a direction change. I haven’t seen such a versatile pearl at this level in a long time.

Hammer Ocean Vibe – 2.510 .042 • (4”x 35*)

Fact: This ball is stunning just sitting on the rack. The Vibe was the most asked about release after the Black Widows. This will be a popular choice for all levels of bowlers. The coverstock is a pearlized version of the Orange Vibe cover and is very clean in the oil. The reaction shape is quick and angular when it finds friction. While I was using a more rolling hand position, the Ocean Vibe still had an angular motion. I changed my hand position to provide more rotation and tilt which did create more length. The Ocean went another 1-2” longer and had a great move out of the pattern. I could move into where I was with the Dark Web (34/20) and get a different ball motion. Personally, I would take the polish off to open up the hook range down lane and smooth out the reaction a bit. The Vibe core is a favorite for a reason and I can see why. While the Ocean Vibe is offered from 10-16lbs, the cores are changed in the 12-13lb range, but give similar number in the heavier counterparts. The 10-11lbs. will offer an option to bowlers who need lighter weights but want more than a polyester ball in motion. Paired with the Hammer Dark Web, any bowler will have a great 1-2 punch to get started in bowling or replace a ball or two. Talk to your favorite shop about the Ocean Vibe today!

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the past and current Hammer lines. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Track Stealth Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Black Widow 2.0, Hammer Dark Web, Hammer Obsession Tour Solid

As you may know, I am an ambassador under the Hammer Bowling Brand. This comes with having the availability of using the other 6 brands under the Brunswick Bowling umbrella. These include the Brunswick, Columbia300, DV8, Ebonite, Hammer, Radical and Track brands. Every now and then I see a ball that would be a good fit for many bowlers due to it being unique or a replacement of an older release. So I ordered one to try it out. The Track Stealth is a ball that the brand hasn’t had in awhile- a big symmetrical at a great price point. I decided to compare it twice. Once on a slightly bowled on condition (Hammer Raw Solid starting ball) and on the same fresh condition the next day getting lined up with the Brunswick Knock Out. Saying I was pleased with the results in an understatement. Below are my observations. 

The pattern is a 42’ pattern that is approximately 8:1 ratio with a moderate taper. The first testing was done after the Hammer Dark Web comparison report after about 2 games on fresh. The second comparison with the Brunswick Knock Out and the Hammer Obsession Tour Solid was on the fresh. I have not been able to get the exact number from the center so this is my best guess. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to off the hand ball speed which is about 17.25 mph. All core numbers are at 15lbs pre-drilled.

Track Stealth – 2.482 .056 • (4-1/2”x 35*)

First comparison to the Hammer Black Widow 2.0, Hammer Dark Web

With 2 games bowled, the Raw was still reading the lane very well. Standing 24, targeting with an open angle at 13 and a focal point of the 10 pin got me lined up quickly. Stronger covers in this center read well and being in the volume helps the ball shape out and the pin carry is very good.

 Hammer Black Widow 2.0 – 2.500 .058 .016 • (45*x5”x25*)

With the Aggression Solid cover and the most popular core for Hammer of all time (Gas Mask), the Black Widow 2.0 had me move quite a bit to 10/6 left of the Raw Solid. Changing to a hand position that creates some axis rotation, hitting the pocket and striking happened often. The 2.0 still wanted to change direction a little early in the midlane, so I switched to the Hammer Dark Web.

Hammer Dark Web – 2.514 .048 • (4”x35*)

Changing to the Dark Web kept me in the same part of the lane, but the core dynamics allowed for a cleaner motion through the heads and early mid part of the lane than the 2.0. The hook phase out of the pattern was perfect and made that zone look huge. As the lane transitioned a bit, I could keep moving in. Please check out my Hammer Dark Web comparison report. It is a ball all bowlers should look at.

Track Stealth – 2.482 .056 • (4-1/2”x 35*)

The cover was previously used on the Track Tactix solid that was released in September of 2018. I liked that ball a lot and wasn’t sure if it was the cover, the unique core or the combination or the two. The Track Stealth is a strong symmetrical that might be too strong for most house volumes without a surface change. Starting where the Dark Web was striking, the Stealth was almost as clean as the Dark Web but out of the pattern the still clean back ends had it stand up for me and didn’t create a lot of room. Closing down my angles slightly (31/19) with a focal point of the 6/10, the Stealth was very good. Again with this volume and with my base release, I would have to adjust the surface to something smoother and maybe add a touch of compound or polish. Had I bowled this year at the USBC Nationals, the Track Stealth definitely would have been in the bags. Higher speed bowlers will like the Stealth and bowlers who like a smoother shape and have trouble with Asyms on medium-heavy or higher volumes should ask about it at their favorite shop. 

On the next day fresh with the Brunswick Knock Out (4-3/4”x30* and lane shine for disclosure) I got lined up standing 23, targeting 13 at the arrows and with a focal point of between the 6 and 10 pins. The original Knock Out and the Raw Solid are my lane readers.

Hammer Obsession Tour Solid – 2.469 .034 .013 • (55*x4-1/2”x 35*)

The cover and core combo of the Obsession Tour is really good for a controlled motion on med-heavy volumes. Since the lanes were fresh, I could use it without over reaction on out of the pattern. Moving 3/1 left (26/14) and closing down the focal point to the center of the 6, striking was very good. A lot of the time, patterns that centers use make a lot of equipment playable in the same area, but with a shape difference. This is what elite bowlers look to adjust, getting the ball to go through the pins correctly to carry and monitor the motion from there as the competition goes on. I normally use the Hammer Obsession Pearl as my strongest ball on daily conditions.

Track Stealth – 2.482 .056 • (4-1/2”x 35*)

Changing to the Track Stealth, a bigger move on the approach and more open launch angle was needed. Once I got to 32 with my feet, targeting 18 at the arrows and the focal point moving to the center of the 10 pin, the pocket was found with consistency. I keep moving and adjusting my axis rotation and tilt and was surprised how the ball took to the changes and not burning up too early as long as I kept it in the volume. Early friction is not a friend of the Stealth, unless the bowler is speed dominant. The Track Stealth will be in my tournament bag with bigger Asyms. There are not a lot of higher volume conditions in my area unless the tournament calls for it. 

As stated above, on this volume, in this center, a surface adjustment could help greatly, but it would change the ball into something I currently have. I will keep it as is and keep the cover clean and refreshed. I did do a quick test to see how fast the cover absorbs oil. It was slightly over 4 minutes before most of the early flare had disappeared. This shows that for the Track Stealth to perform maintenance is needed and the uniqueness of the ball will keep bowlers happy. Never neglect to maintain your equipment.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the past and current Hammer lines. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Black Widow Urethane Pearl Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Black Widow Urethane Solid, Black Widow Ghost & Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane

With the WWRD of 2/25/22, Hammer Bowling is excited to present the Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane. This time the cover is the same as the Hammer Purple Pearl but with the famous Gas Mask core. This report will have a new adjustment grid so it’s easier to compare ball to ball and the adjustments needed. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed. The pattern is a fresh 42’ with more volume starting at 11 in. Outside of 6 tends to be a difficult starting point due to the topography of the center and less side to side taper. The track area opens up quickly and starting positions and angles need to be adjusted. The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Scorpion (4-3/4”x30*).  

The Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane was tested after the Hammer 3-D Offset, Some of the head oil and midlane oil had been removed. So I brought out the Scorpion again to get lined up and adjusted my feet to 27, targeting 13/14 with the focal point between the 6 & 10. It also should be noted I changed my hand position for more axis rotation and a sharper back end motion. This is a 2/2 move left, opened the launch angle a bit, but the biggest change was the hand position. This happened very quickly in the span of 2 games bowling alone.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Hammer Black Widow Urethane Solid (55*x4-3/4”x30*)

The Black Widow Urethane Solid was designed for medium – heavy volumes up front and a strong mid lane reaction and had a box finish of 360/500/500 Abralon. Basically when this saw friction, it grabbed and started its rotational change of direction. Great for flatter patterns and control but with a stronger motion than the Purple Pearl Urethane. The Hammer Urethane Pearl uses the same cover stock as the Purple Pearl but has the Gas Mask Core. The drillings are close, but the numbers and cover would get the Solid to react earlier. The Pearl went about 3’ longer down the lane.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane (4-1/4”x25*)

Having the same cover, the differences would be the cores and surface prep. It’s Asym- RG 2.500 DIFF .058 Asym .016 at 360/800 Siaair vs. Sym RG 2.650 DIFF .015 at 500/1K/2K Siaair. The difference is in the layouts are minimal with the same VALs being used. If the Pin to PAP distances were the same the core and surface would still be the deciding factors on how early the ball starts up. The general ball motion differences in Syms vs. Asyms is Syms have a smoother longer hook zone compared to Asyms which have a quicker hook zone. With both these being Pearl Urethanes, it was apparent the BW was stronger and had a bigger move due to the core and surface. You can see by comparing the flare mages below. Surfaces can be changed a bit but if you are choosing a urethane, its best to keep it close to its designed surface or make another choice in equipment. While not a preferred choice for recreational of standard league patterns, both would have their place in a competitive bowler’s tournament bag.

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Urethane (45*x5”x25*) – Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

The difference between these two is just the cover stock and how they respond to the oil and friction. The Ghost does clear the fronts more than the BW Pearl Urethane and has a sharper change of direction. The BW Ghost surface is at 500/1K/1500 Siaair with Crown Factory Compound to help with the length. The Ghost is a great alternate when the stronger pieces start to burn up. I personally choose either the Ghost or the Obsession Tour Pearl. This depends on the shape that carries the pins better at the time.

As stated above, the first testing session was under a center’s fresh house shot. I decided to add another comparison on a different day. The center adjusted both lane machines and the pattern seemed to have less volume and the 6 and out was cleaner and able to be used by different styles of bowlers. Scores were reported higher throughout the week. During the test, it was obvious that the Black Widow Pearl Urethane needed more volume. The core is too strong and while the cover is a pearl it is urethane and the box grit is rough (360/800 Siaair). The ball got into a roll too soon and stood up as it got closer to the pins. This resulted in striking, flat 10s or 4 pins. There was little room to miss and get a string going. The change to be made for this and the first test would be to smooth out the surface. However, urethanes aren’t the best choice for recreational (house) patterns. There are other choices that benefit from the higher volumes in the middle and the drier boards towards the gutters. Flatter Challenge and Sport patterns where control of the friction is needed down lane is where this and most urethanes will shine. 

 

 

 

 

It is said and printed that urethanes are for “dry” lanes. I believe that this statement is incomplete and it brings confusion. If there is a general cliff in the pattern to start, urethane may smooth this out. Closed angles are beneficial and playing/controlling the end of the pattern could lead to a more consistent ball motion and adjustments would be less radical. Referring back to the comparison, the Purple Pearl and the BW Pearl Urethane have the same coverstock (at different box surfaces) but much different cores. You can see this by the images above. If the friction of the pattern or the center calls for control, starting with the Purple Pearl and switching to the BW Pearl Urethane may be an option. Since the Gas Mask core flares, it will help cut through any carry down that might have occurred with symmetrical urethanes. Surface adjustments may be changed per individual bowler, but it depends on the needs of that bowler and the environment that they are facing.

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the Hammer line. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer 3-D Offset Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Obsession, Hammer Obsession Tour, Black Widow Ghost 

Hammer Bowling is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 3-D Offset. This core was designed by Mo Pinel and was a big favorite on its initial release. Using a core that is close to the original shape, an updated cover stock for today’s conditions and the color and engraving that looks like it came out of 1997. Don’t forget Hammer has added the carbon fiber outer core and D.O.T. for durability and flexibility of drilling. 

I believe many bowlers of different styles will appreciate the way the Hammer 3D Offset rolls throughout the lane. Being built for medium-heavy volumes, surface adjustments can be made. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed. The pattern is a fresh 42’ with more volume starting at 11 in. Outside of 6 tends to be a difficult starting point due to the topography of the center and less side to side taper. The track area opens up quickly and starting positions and angles need to be adjusted. The ball that I based this report off is the Hammer Scorpion (4-3/4”x30*). 

After getting warmed up and finding a good read of the lane, the starting position for the Hammer Scorpion was feet at 23, targeting 11/12 at the arrows and the focal point was the center of the 6 pin (9). Very easy read and flush hits using a rolling release. 

 Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Obsession (55*x4-1/2”x35*) 

The current heavy volume High Performance ball in the Hammer line is the Obsession. Because of the medium-light volume of oil, the Obsession tended to start up too early. However since the lanes were fresh, I was able to get into the volume and close down my angles with a rolling release. It didn’t last long and the Obsession would be better used for more volume. The 3-D started 3/4 left of the Scorpion and the focal point opened to between the 6/10. The3-D was cleaner than the Obsession and hit great due to saving more energy. The motion off the end of the pattern to my eye would be considered continuous. 

Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Obsession Tour (55*x4-1/2”x35*) 

Using the same release, the Obsession Tour was a more controlled but still burned energy to soon to carry 10 pins consistently. Again moving more into the oil, opening angles and changing hand position to add more axis rotation the 3-D cleared and recovered for flush strikes. I began to notice that the head area I was in started to hook earlier. With the absorption rate of the Obsessions and the lighter volume, this happened very quickly. More axis rotation and moving into the oil solved this issue. 

 Hammer 3-D Offset (45*x5”x30*) – Hammer Black Ghost (45×5”x25)

The 3-D Offset is stronger than the Ghost. With both balls striking flush, the difference is apparent. The 3-D was 4/2 left, and the focal point opened from the right side of the 6 (Ghost) to the center of the 10 (3-D). This may not seem a lot but the angle and distance is big throughout the procession of the entire shot. 

The Hammer 3-D Offset is a great piece and out of the box it would fit between the Obsession Tour and the Black Widow Ghost. The Obsession Tour Pearl would be close, but it would have a sooner smoother ball motion. Surface changes with the 3-D is possible, but I suggest not going to extremes and let this ball show what it can do with angle and hand position changes. I believe this is a versatile ball that serious bowlers should check out at their favorite shop. 

I hope this View helps give you a better understanding between balls in the Hammer line. As always, what you bowl on and more importantly you skill set will determine your choice in equipment. You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl Comparison

Compared to the Hammer Web Pearl & Hammer Web MB, Hammer Black Widow 2.0 & Hammer Black Widow Pink

For this comparison I went deeper into my arsenal. I brought out balls that have the same Gas Mask Core (2.0 and Pink), the same coverstock (Web Pearl) and a different asym with the same drilling (Web MB). The Black Widow Ghost Pearl is at box and the layout is 45×5”x25. All balls when tested were used with their box finish and cleaned regularly. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67* and I’m considered matched rev rate to ball speed.

 Hammer Web Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Testing on this day was after a morning Trio League that was on the center’s 40’ house shot. Lately, the volume has been less but the shape of the pattern seems the same. For this, I used the Hammer Web Pearl to be the lane reading ball. The track area (RH) was a bit toasty, so moving in was the move. With the focal point splitting the 6/10, striking was really good standing 25 and targeting through 14. The Ghost has the same cover (Aggression Pearl) and finish (500/1000/1500 SiaAir/ Crown Factory Compound) as the Web Pearl. With the Ghost layout numbers the ball “should have gone longer and had a quicker response”. I had to move to 32 with my feet and target through 18 (7/4 move left) and open my angles to have the focal point to the 10 pin. This shows the core differences have a great effect on ball motion when other factors are the same or close. The Black Widow Ghost is a powerful Pearl and surface adjustments could make it stronger.

Hammer Web MB (Layout: 45×5”x25*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

As you can see here the layouts are identical and the differences again are the cores, finishes are the same (500/1000 SiaAir/Crown Factory Compound) but the Web MB has the Semtex NE Pearl formulation. The Web MB is a great length and quick response ball for me. Getting the ball to the pocket and having the pins fall correctly, the feet and targeting were moved right and the launch angle was decreased slightly. The move was to 30/17 with a focal point of the left side of the 10 pin. The Ghost Pearl was 2/1 stronger with more traction in the midlane (creating a longer hook phase) compared to the Web MB. Changing the surface of the Ghost by removing the compound would add a better separation and length and shape between these two balls.

Hammer Black Widow 2.0 (Layout: 45×5”x25*) Hammer Black Widow Ghost Pearl (Layout: 45×5”x25)

Again both are drilled the same. The Black Widow 2.0 has some lane shine, so a fresh cover would add more difference in when it reads friction, i.e. earlier hook. With the Aggression Solid cover the 2.0 read sooner and smoother than the Ghost. With the focal point staying the same (10 pin), my feet slid at 29 with targeting through 17 at the arrows. That’s a 3/1 move right, which makes sense since the Aggression Pearl cover will be more reactive near the end of the pattern.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Obsession Tour Pearl • Hammer Infamous

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Obsession and Hammer Obsession Tour as the base reaction and both been drilled with a layout of 55*x4-1/2”x35*. My PAP is 5-1/4”x1/4”^ with low tilt at 1.67*. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. Hammer Obsession has less than 10 games on it, while the Hammer Obsession Tour has about 20.

 

Hammer Obsession Tour Pearl
(Layout: 55*x4-1/2”x35*)

Bowling on a fresh house shot (I believe 8:1 tapered), with my release, the lane surface friction, plus the volume of oil used the Obsession is just too strong and early to be productive. I instantly had to move into the 15-20 zone at the arrows and with the pattern at 40’, this made it tough to get a consistent reaction. My feet were at 31 and targeting at 19 with a projection point to 8-10 near the end of the pattern. The Obsession is made for more volume and it is good to have in the bag for heavier volumes, but not a match for me on what I was bowling on. Higher speed bowlers could be a better match up if their current equipment doesn’t read early enough on the fresh. Switching to the Obsession Tour, the smoother ball motion that the cover and milder asymmetric core allow me to move right but just a little. Feet were at 29 to 17 to the same point down lane and it is a better reaction. But I believe I would have to change soon as the heads begin to transition. Changing to the new Obsession Tour Pearl, I was able to more a bit more right (1/1) and the cover was easier to get through the front. Staying with the original Tour, speed had to be very consistent due to the strength of the coverstock. With the Tour Pearl, length was very good and there was a sharper but still controllable shape of the end of the pattern than the Tour Solid. The Tour Pearl would be nice choice for a ball down and possibly stay in the same area when High Performance solids start to read too early. It would be a great go to ball if solids start too soon and symmetrical pearls don’t recover fast enough on what you are bowling on. The shape of the Obsession Tour core when the cover read friction is so readable and easy to make moves. Of course, the gold color draws attention.

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. (Solid) 4-1/4” x 30* and Hammer Fugitive Solid 4-3/4”x30* as base reactions.The PAP used is 5-1/4”x1/4”^. All balls when tested were used with their box finish.

Hammer Infamous (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*)

Since the Infamous has a new core design and a version of the Envy Solid coverstock (without the CFI found on the Obsession), I wanted to compare it to a few recent releases as well as a solid symmetrical from 2020- the Hammer Fugitive Solid. Starting with the Web T.E., the launch angle was too open to keep the ball consistent. The lanes seemed to have more friction when I did this comparison than the normal fresh pattern. Changing to the Scorpion, it was a better read standing 27 and targeting 17 to 8-9 at the end of the pattern. Good clearance and hitting the pocket to strike. Switching to the new Web Pearl, I could stay in the same place and targeting but have a longer, sharper reaction with more recovery down lane than the Scorpion. Both struck well from there, just a different shape. This is one point I bring up during lessons is that some patterns will be scoring friendly to different types of balls depending on the volume and ratio in that area. The Fugitive Solid was a ball (along with the Fugitive Pearl) that got a bit lost during the closures we had due to local business restrictions. Moving 2/2 left, the Fugitive wanted to read early, so I tightened up the angle and kept it in the heavier volume. It also wanted to roll forward at the end of the pattern. Conclusion: it needed more volume and maybe a longer distance on this surface. Switching to the Infamous, it was a 5/2 move and opened my angles. It gave more length than the Fugitive (Higher RG 2.559 vs. 2.486) and has the opposing radial discs to help with length. I also added more axis rotation (60*-70*) to help the ball maintain more side roll and it helped the ball to strike. I would need more volume or a surface change to use on this type of pattern. For bowlers who used the Fugitive Solid but need more length and not as clean as a pearl or smoother surface, the Infamous would fit right in. The cover is very strong out of the box and tamed down a bit after some use. This statement gets confused with a loss of ball reaction but this is not the case here. The next day back on the lanes, the Infamous was much better for me. Still stronger lane any symmetrical I compared it to and a more consistent ball motion.

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

Hammer Web Pearl • Hammer Scorpion • Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane Comparison

Ball used for comparison – Hammer Web T.E. Hybrid as the base reaction and has been drilled with a layout of 4-1/4” x 30*. The PAP used is 5-1/4”x1/4”^. All balls when tested were used with their box finish. 

 Hammer Web Pearl (Layout: 4-3/4”x30*) 

Having never rolled the original Black/Silver released on 9/10/2019, I did drill them for some clients and I liked what I saw. The new Web Pearl has the same cover (with a slight finish adjustment), same Spheroid core and comes in a new color combo of Jade/Smoke. On the fresh, the Web Pearl handled the same volume as the Web T.E. Hybrid, but gave me a cleaner path and more miss room and recovery to strike. While promoted as a skid/flip reaction, I saw it as a somewhere in between the Web T.E. and the quicker reacting Web M.B. This is very good for league play with higher friction to start or when they transition after some games have been bowled on the pair. Alignment moves may be smaller and the cover can be adjusted. If you missed the first release or have been waiting for its return, you should grab them while you can. 

Hammer Scorpion (Layout: 4-3/4” x30*)

Seeing the tech sheet I was very interested in the Scorpion. I thought I would like this and I was happy to be right. Compared to the Web T.E. Hybrid, the Scorpion was 4/2 stronger, I could open my angles and it coasted through the body of the oil and rolled strong in the midlane and backend. The Scorpion would be a great transition from Asyms (Black Widow 2.0 of higher) to handle the volume, but smooth out the front to mid lane launch angle. The Core is the LED 2.0 and is an adjusted version (lower RG and higher diff) than the LED core found in the Purple Pearl Urethane and has the Semtex Hybrid cover (Dark Legend, Fierce Phobia). This may replace the Web T.E. Hybrid as my first ball out of the bag due to its versatility and response to release changes for different ball motions. The Scorpion and Web Pearl would make a great 1-2 punch for most league bowlers.

Hammer Purple Pearl Urethane (Layout: 4-1/4” x25*)

To be honest, I was an observer on all the hype over the original (2016) release. I wasn’t bowling much and didn’t see the need for a urethane reaction, although I have the Black Hammer Urethane and Black Widow Urethane. I just never used them much. I ordered a Purple Pearl to get answers. The OOB surface looks like it would stick to the lane. The first time I bowled with it was at the end of a practice session and the alignment was just inside of the track area which had opened up. 2 shots…NOPE! I didn’t like what I saw; the ball rolled too early and hit flat, but that is not what the ball is designed for. The next time when I was testing the above balls, I was in the body of the oil and striking with the Scorpion and decided, why not? When it came out of the volume, the reaction was very easy to read and adjust to. I can see it on short, med-heavy volume shots where controlling the friction and pocket is crucial. It may be a “let’s try this” choice when everything else is not looking good. A possible surface change or lane shine could change the reaction point. I think every serious tournament bowler should have one (some have many, many more) in their bag as an option. League only bowlers may not benefit from it on what they see daily; but it depends on the bowler’s specs, skill set and environment that should be factored in before purchasing. 

These are my views and your results may vary. Please go to the FTF Ball Comparison Info post to see how I was able to get the above information. You can also download a PDF of the information in this post to read at your convenience.

It’s important to know your personal specs to help you make the proper choices for your game and increase your scoring. I believe bowling balls are tools and using the ones that work against your specs, skill set and environment will cause issues.

You can always contact me with any questions or schedule a consultation session on your current equipment. Visit the Coaching & Services page on our website, email us at www.info@filltheframes.com or you call and text messages to (310) 784-1901.

Thanks, be well & safe!
Juan Fonseca
Fill The Frames Bowling Services 

FTF Review Archive

Comparison Report Introduction

Follow this link to get a deeper understanding of how we compared the new equipment to a baseline ball.

FTF Ball Comparison Intro